10 Days Left

74569510 More days… thats how long this Lenten season has left. They say it only takes 21 days to develop a habit… good or bad. We are well past 21 days into Lent! If you are participating in Lent this year, you have likely beaten the majority of the temptations by now. You no longer dream of the succulent tastes and warm smells of whatever you choose to give up. Your free time is no longer ruined by your repeated desires for more of that thing you decided to trash for 40 days… it’s getting pretty easy to have less of that thing, if not ZERO of the thing you chose to give up for Lent.

I had this thought yesterday, it’s getting easier and easier to deny myself of this luxury and I could realistic see my life without it. It’s not a vice for me so I don’t think I need to drop it out of my life, but certainly denying myself the pleasure is much simpler now that 30 days ago when this journey started. But then it occurred to me… I’m supposed to be seeking God and praying every time I’m fasting, and I’m supposed to be relying on Jesus when I’m tempted and/or denying myself for Lent…

Truth is… I haven’t needed God’s help much in the last week or so and therefore I haven’t even asked!!!

Weather the temptations or desires are present, use the next 10 days to get close to the ONE who came close to give His life for yours. Press in to God in the coming 10 days and see what happens, you have nothing to lose : )

Peace

Leave a comment